Tyla van Huyssteen, a first year Bachelor of Radiography student and Vice-Chancellor’s Scholar, has been selected as one of two students from the Eastern Cape to be part of the National Science & Technology Forum’s (NSTF) Brilliants programme.

The NSTF Brilliants Programme recognises 18 first year students from across the country studying in the science, medicine and engineering fields. A young man and woman are chosen from each of the nine provinces. These students must have received top marks in mathematics and physical science in the National Senior Certificate Examinations (grade 12) of the previous year. They are identified by the Provincial Education Departments, and selected by the NSTF. Only students who matriculated at public schools are selected.

The other Eastern Cape student is, Mr Vuyo Nogqala from St James Senior Secondary School who is studying towards a BSc Eng (Mechatronics) at the University of Cape Town (UCT).

“It is critical for the future of our country that enough good passes in matric maths and physical science are produced. Furthermore that some of these young people choose studies and careers in the sciences, medicine and engineering.” Said the NSTF.

Tyla matriculated from Pearson High School in Port Elizabeth last year.

Tyla (second from left) with Professor Dalena van Rooyen (Deputy Dean of the Health Sciences Faculty), Vice-Chancellor Professor Sibongile Muthwa and Dean of Teaching & Learning, Professor Cheryl Foxcroft at the handing over of the university's Vice-Chancellor's Scholarship Awards earlier this year.